Media = the Biggest Bully

I sit at a desk for almost 8 hours a day. I have a 5 year old who just started full-time school. I am currently taking college courses as well, and I battle chronic depression. These are not “excuses”; these are valid reasons why I’m not a size 0. Since I can remember I have not been a thin girl, I’ve always been different. I’m huge by any means, curvy yes, but I’m not where some are.  Which some would say “well it could be worse, at least you have a chance to be more fit” ect. The truth is, what if I don’t have that chance. I mean yes, I don’t eat the best, and I should work out more than I do, but does that really mean I’m going to be this toned badass? No.  Truth is the reason I have given up so many times is I’m scared that the results I get won’t meet society’s standards for woman.

I have come to the realization that the whole time I was in school and felt picked on and teased for how I looked was never the fault of the person doing the bullying; it was the media’s fault.  The media since I can remember has given me an unrealistic hope for how I should look, dress, feel, ect. Media in society is the biggest bully of them all. For years I was told by media that I’ll never be loved if I’m overweight, that I’m just lazy and will not accomplish anything physical. Well sorry to burst your bubble society but I’ve proven you wrong.

1)  I have given birth to an amazing and healthy child who is more kind than any soul I have ever met. She is loving and a blessing wrapped up in one.

2) I have the love of my life. He accepts me for WHO I am not what I am.

3) I’m 23 years old and have completed over 30 5ks, 3 12ks, and 4 (going on 5) half marathons. Tell me again I can’t do anything physically.

Life is difficult as it is and the media feeds on that. They make their money on all of us feeling we are never good enough. Frankly, I’m tired of it. Yeah my stomach rolls. Yes I wear plus size clothing. I’m self-concise in bikinis and in stores. But I am me and I can’t keep letting every  single ad, celebrity,  and memory from my past convince me otherwise. Enough is enough.

Leave a comment